Young Alumni Award

Main Content

The Law Alumni Association established the Young Alumni Award in 2000 to honor an individual who has graduated within the past 15 years and has made significant leadership and service contributions to Duke Law School and the legal profession.


Venroy July

Venroy July '07

Venroy July is a partner in the corporate practice group of Dickinson Wright PLLC Based in the Washington, D.C. office, Mr. July’s practice includes a wide range of corporate and finance matters, with a particular focus on mergers and acquisitions. In his practice he represents clients on a wide range of transactions from seed investments in technology startups to acquisitions and sales of multi-hundred million dollar businesses. A resident of Baltimore, Maryland, based on his reputation within the legal community, Mr. July has received the Daily Record’s Leadership in the Law Generation JD award, has been recognized as a Rising Star by the Super Lawyers magazine, has been named to the Best Lawyer list, and as a Who’s Who in Law by the Baltimore Business Journal. In addition to his legal career, Mr. July is a member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. and is a co-founder of the Baltimore Young Professionals (BYP), an organization focused on curating social, philanthropic and financial opportunities and experiences for young black professionals in Baltimore. For his efforts in supporting the entrepreneurial ecosystem in Baltimore, Mr. July was awarded the 40 under 40 award by the Baltimore Business Journal, the 40 Under 40 award by the Black Business Review, and the Clayton McNeill Leadership award by Philanthropik. He currently serves on the Board of Directors of Lifebridge Health, Grace Medical Center, the East Baltimore Development, Inc., the Green Street Academy and the Baltimore African American Homebuilders Cooperative. Mr. July received his Bachelor of Arts degrees in Political Science and Economics from the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, where he was a Morehead Scholar, and his J.D. from the Duke University School of Law. 


Young Alumni Award

  • 2020 Lauren Fine '11
  • 2019 Celia A. Glass '14
  • 2018 Libby Magee Coles ’08
  • 2017 Linton Mann III ‘07
  • 2016 Rodney D. Bullard '01
  • 2015 Yi Lin Chua '00 
  • 2014 Nita A. Farahany '04
  • 2013 Sarah Hawkins Warren ’08
  • 2012 Amy Y. Yeung '06
  • 2011 Linda Martin '96
  • 2010 Adrian Dollard '95
  • 2009 Christopher Dean Dusseault '94
  • 2008 Jennifer L. Franklin '98
  • 2007 Jay Bilas '92
  • 2006 Christopher B. McLaughlin '96
  • 2005 Caroline B. Gottschalk '90
  • 2004 John Reed Stark '89
  • 2003 Theresa A. Newman '88
  • 2002 A. Daniel Scheinman '87
  • 2001 Elizabeth J. Gustafson '86
  • 2000 Sonja Steptoe '85