News & Events


Class Notes

  • James Garrison JD'73 has published the novel QL 4 (TouchPoint Press, 2017), based on his experiences as a military cop during the Vietnam War. Jim was drafted during law school, returning to Duke following his tour of duty. He is now retired from law practice in the oil industry, living in Houston.
  • Beth Richardson-Royer JD'07 and Chuck Messer welcomed a daughter, Maddie, on Dec. 19, 2015. Beth is deputy federal public defender in Los Angeles.
  • Stela Herschmann LLM'14 has joined A Drop in the Ocean, a non-profit organization in Rio de Janeiro that develops communication strategies to promote awareness, empathy and solidarity with social and environmental causes. She previously worked in Rio at Park + Institute Sitie for the Environment, Arts and Technology, and in Washington, D.C. as a fellow for the Institute for Governance & Sustainable Development.
  • Jeff Kern JD'87 has been elected partner in the New York office of Sheppard Mullin, where he is a member of the government contracts, investigations, and international trade practice groups. Before joining Sheppard Mullin, he served as senior regional counsel in FINRA's Department of Enforcement and senior trial counsel in the New York Stock Exchange Enforcement Division.
  • Morgan Clemons JD'10 has joined Emory University School of Law as an adjunct professor teaching Introduction to Financial Compliance. She continues her full-time practice at Aldridge Pite advising banks, mortgage companies, consumer lenders, fintech start-ups, bill pay, and international money transmitters on compliance matters.
  • Valecia McDowell JD'98, litigation member in the Charlotte office of Moore & Van Allen, has received a 2017 Julius L. Chambers Diversity Champion Award, presented annually by the Mecklenburg County Bar recognizing attorneys who champion diversity and inclusion in the Charlotte area.  Valecia is co-head of the firm's white collar, regulatory defense and investigations practice and co-chair of its diversity committee. She also serves as general counsel of the Charlotte Chamber of Commerce. 
  • Jess (Bodger) Rydstrom JD'07 has been elected partner at Williams & Connolly in Washington, D.C., where she litigates complex civil cases, with an emphasis on commercial and patent litigation and professional liability defense. She is a member of the firm’s hiring committee and women’s initiative.
  • Wells Hall JD'73 has received the 2017 Janet R. Spragens Pro Bono Award from the ABA Tax Section ’s Pro Bono Award Committee.  Wells is the former Tax Section vice chair of pro bono and outreach, and a partner at Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough in Charlotte. He has been a leader in the Tax Section’s Adopt-A-Base program, which provides training to military Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) participants on bases across the country.  
  • Mandisa Maya LLM'90 has been named president of the Supreme Court of Appeal of South Africa by President Jacob Zuma. She previously was deputy president of that court. She is the first female to hold either position.  
  • Julia Wood JD'12 has joined the Charlotte office of K&L Gates as an associate in its complex commercial litigation and dispute resolution practice. She previously practiced at Cahill Gordon & Reindel in New York.