Justin Miller Awards

Main Content

Justin Miller Awards

The Office of Student Affairs is pleased to announce the Justin Miller Awards for graduating Duke Law students. Justin Miller served as Law School Dean from 1930-34. Among other accomplishments, he is credited with bringing national attention to the Law School and instilling the qualities that continue to make Duke Law an exceptional place to study. As today’s Duke Law Blueprint attests, the principles Dean Miller espoused some 70 years ago remain a part of the foundation of this Law School. In honor of Dean Miller and in the spirit of his words, we present the following awards:

  • Award for Leadership – The recipient is someone who has been especially active in the Law School and/or the greater Durham community, who demonstrates initiative and leads by example. He or she takes responsibility for his or her actions and encourages others to do the same. 
  • Award for Integrity – The recipient is a courageous person with strong principles, a solid character, and a true sense of altruism. Demonstrating an appreciation for honesty and justice, he or she instills these same qualities in others.
  • Award for Citizenship – A genuine enthusiasm for the Duke Law School community distinguishes this recipient as someone who brings people together in constructive ways. With a spirit of optimism, he or she looks beyond individual differences to find common ground in mentoring relationships with others.
  • Award for Intellectual Curiosity – Not necessarily the student with the highest grades or the most academic honors, the recipient is a person who truly enjoys learning. He or she has an intellectual hunger and passion for the law and consistently shares this with and encourages it in others.
  • LLM Award for Leadership and Community Participation - an LLM student who shows engagement with the whole Law School community, makes effective efforts to promote the integration of LLM and JD students, participates in Law School organizations and activities, devotes attention to academic performance, and shows a display for concern for the well-being of LLM students

Eligibility and Selection Process:

Nominees for the Leadership, Integrity, Citizenship, and Intellectual Curiosity awards must be 3L students; nominees for the LLM Award must be international LLM students. Nominations will be accepted from students only, and students from any class may offer nomination(s). Nominations will be reviewed by a committee of students, faculty, and administrators, and the recipients will be announced at the Graduation Gala. For more information and to submit a nomination, please visit: Nominations must be submitted online by Wednesday, March 20 at 5 p.m.


Each recipient will receive a gift, and a book in the Law Library will be dedicated on his or her behalf. Plaques with the names of the winners will be displayed next to the portrait of Dean Justin Miller.