Technology Assisted Review (TAR) Best Practices Panelists

Panel 1: What is TAR?
  • Honorable Bill R. Wilson, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Arkansas
  • Maura Grossman, David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science, University of Waterloo
  • Dr. Bruce Hedin, H5 Inc.
  • Evan Benjamin, Litigation Support Guru
  • George Socha, BDO USA, LLP
Panel 2: What Purposes Is TAR Used For?
  • Honorable Joe B. Brown, U.S. District Court, Middle District of Tennessee
  • Honorable Jill L. Burkhardt, U.S. District Court, Southern District of California
  • Ben Barnett, Dechert LLP
  • David Stellings, Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein LLP
  • Allison Stanton, Director of Ediscovery, FOIA, and Records, Department of Justice-Civil Division
Panel 3: When, How, In What Type of Cases, and Under What Circumstances Should TAR Be Used?
  • Honorable James Francis, U.S. District Court, Southern District of New York
  • Honorable Iain D. Johnston, U.S. District Court, Northern District of Illinois
  • Robert Keeling, Sidley Austin LLP
  • David Buchanan, Seeger Weiss LLP
  • Aaron Crews, Walmart, Inc.
Panel 4: Evaluating Correctness and Reliability of TAR
  • Honorable Paul Grimm, U.S. District Court, District of Maryland
  • Honorable Douglas Arpert, U.S. District Court, District of New Jersey
  • Paul Weiner, Littler Mendelson PC
  • Ariana Tadler, Milberg LLP
  • Corey Lee, Hunton & Williams LLP
Panel 5: Transparency and TAR Training Documents
  • Honorable Robert L. Miller, U.S. District Court, Northern District of Indiana
  • Honorable Joy Flowers Conti, U.S. District Court, Western District of Pennsylvania
  • Dawson Horn, American International Group (AIG) Insurance Company
  • Paul McVoy, Meta-e Discovery LLC
  • Karen Sharp Halbert, Roberts Law Firm PA
Panel 6: Developing TAR Best Practice Protocol
  • Honorable Lee H. Rosenthal, U.S. District Court, Southern District of Texas
  • Honorable Andrew Peck, U.S. District Court, Southern District of New York
  • John J. Rosenthal, Winston & Strawn LLP
  • Jonathan Redgrave, Redgrave LLP
  • Megan Jones, Hausfeld
Keynote Lunch Speaker
  • Tony Scott, Former U.S. Federal Chief Information Officer (CIO) and Former Microsoft Corp. CIO
Conference Dignitary
  • Honorable Jeffrey Sutton, U.S. Court of Appeals, Sixth Circuit
  • Professor Jay Tidmarsh, Judge James J. Clynes, Jr., Professor of Law, University of Notre Dame Law School

  • Professor Steven S. Gensler, Welcome D. and W. DeVier Pierson Professor of Law, University of Oklahoma College of Law