PUBLISHED:March 31, 2010

2010 Brown Award of $10,000 for Excellence in Legal Writing

The Judge John R. Brown Scholarship Foundation is offering its 17th annual Brown Award to recognize Excellence in Legal Writing.

Any law student currently enrolled in an accredited law school in the United States seeking a J.D. or LL.B. degree is eligible to receive the award. The stipend for the winner is $10,000.

In order to be considered, four copies of a current legal writing must be submitted to the Foundation c/o Kenneth G. Engerrand, Brown Sims, P.C., Tenth Floor, 1177 West Loop South, Houston, TX, 77027-9007, with a letter of recommendation by a law school faculty member or legal professional other than the author of the paper. Only one paper may be sponsored by any faculty member or legal professional, and only one paper may be submitted on behalf of any student. The submission must be postmarked no later than May 14, 2010, and the package must contain a separate sheet containing the title of the paper; the name, physical address, telephone number and e-mail address of the student; and the name of the faculty member or legal professional who is sponsoring the paper.

There is no page limitation or restriction on the topic except that the writing must be on a legal subject.

The foundation will not return any material submitted to the foundation.

The recipient of the Brown Award will be notified by August 31, 2010.

The Judge John R. Brown Scholarship Foundation
P.O. Box 131876
Houston, TX 77219-1876