Nicholas DiMascio ’07 wins ASIL’s Francis Deák Prize

April 9, 2009Duke Law News

April 9, 2009 — Nicholas DiMascio has been awarded the American Society of International Law’s 2009 Francis Deák Prize for meritorious scholarship. DiMascio shares the award with former Duke Law faculty member Joost Pauwelyn, Professor of International Law at the Graduate Institute of International Studies in Geneva, Switzerland. The two collaborated on their winning article, “Non-Discrimination in Trade and Investment Treaties: Worlds Apart or Two Sides of the Same Coin,” (102 AJIL 48 (2008)) while DiMascio was a law student.

DiMascio is clerking for Judge Neil V. Wake on the U.S. District Court, District of Arizona. After the completion of his two-year clerkship he will clerk for Judge Berry Silverman on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

According to the ASIL Web site, the annual Francis Deák Prize is awarded to a younger author for meritorious scholarship published in The American Journal of International Law (AJIL). The prize was established in 1973, in memory of Francis Deák, former head of the international law program at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace and editor of American International Law Cases, 1783-1963, the first volume of which was published in 1971. The award is sponsored by Oxford University Press and made in the spring following the volume year in which the article appeared. The award was presented at the ASIL Annual General Meeting in March.
Other News
  • Gretchen Bellamy JD/LLM ’05

    Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., operates more than 11,500 stores in 28 countries. An estimated 37 million people shop at them daily — more than the total population of Canada — and the company says that over 50 percent of Americans shop at them each week. With customers coming from every sector of society and every part of the world, the ability to serve a diverse market is critical to the bottom line.

  • James Cox: “The shareholder’s best advocate”

    L–R at the ILEP symposium in Miami: Michael Krimminger ’82, James Cox, Lawrence Baxter, Ace Factor ’17, and Mark Labaton ’88