Duke Law staffers honored with Duke Blueprint awards

Main Content

June 8, 2006

Three members of the Duke Law staff were honored with Duke Blueprint awards at a Law School reception June 6, 2006. The awards recognize individuals who exemplify the highest values of dedication, skill, teamwork, and commitment to the Duke Law community as outlined in the Duke Blueprint.

Todd Shoemaker, media production coordinator in the Office of Educational Technologies, received the Collaboration Award, which recognizes a staff member whose contributions to teamwork enhance the productivity of others. Dean Bartlett noted the school-wide praise he received for the creativity and dedication he brings to all of his endeavors, including the virtual tour video he recently produced for the School.

Lena Howlett, financial aid specialist in the Financial Aid Office, was presented with the Can-Do Award for what Dean Bartlett described as the “quiet resolve” and “positive can-do attitude” she lends to her work with students and staff.

In presenting Director of Alumni Relations and Special Events Susan McLean with the Blueprint Award, Dean Bartlett praised McLean’s leadership, dedication, and professionalism in organizing and planning law school events, which have added to the School’s quality and energy.

The winners of the staff Blueprint awards join the faculty and students who received similar honors last month. Faculty Blueprint awards were presented to Richard and Marcy Horvitz Professor of Law Curtis Bradley for collaboration, Professor Joost Pauwelyn for faculty scholarship, and Professor Catherine Fisk for commitment to the Duke Law Blueprint. Student awards went to Teresa Sakash for leadership, Ben Stark for integrity, Christopher Kocher for community, and German Delgado for leadership in the LLM program and community participation.