PUBLISHED:April 27, 2011

Graduating students receive legal writing honor

Five members of the Class of 2011 will be inducted into The National Order of Scribes, an award bestowed by the American Society of Legal Writers on graduating students who excel in legal writing.

Adam Braunbeck, Ari Cuenin, Sunny Kim, Katelyn Love, and Josh Mitchell were nominated by the Duke Law writing faculty for their excellent writing in various endeavors, said Clinical Professor and Director of Legal Writing Diane Dimond.

“These are all students who the writing faculty could agree on, having seen their writing, usually in more than one venue,” she said.

As noted on its website, Scribes was founded in 1953 to honor legal writers and encourage a "clear, succinct, and forceful style in legal writing." Duke Law is an institutional member of Scribes, and is given the opportunity each year to nominate up to five graduating JDs for induction into The National Order of Scribes.

The work of the five students is a testament to Duke Law’s institutional focus on a strong writing curriculum and faculty, Dimond said.