PUBLISHED:April 15, 2009

Law Firm Challenge raises more than $180,000

The final horn has sounded on the inaugural Duke Law Firm Challenge, a highly competitive, March Madness-themed contest that raised more than $180,000 for the Law School from 10 participating firms. Those firms that reached the 100 percent participation level and the firm with the highest average gift will be announced at a "post-game" celebratory event with Dean David F. Levi on May 19 at Sidley Austin in Washington, D.C.

The volunteer-driven Law Firm Challenge matched Washington, D.C. alumni against one another in an effort to reach 100 percent participation in Annual Fund giving at their respective firms. The following 10 firms competed in the Challenge: Dow Lohnes; Fulbright & Jaworski; Hogan & Hartson; Jones Day; McDermott Will & Emery; Morgan Lewis & Bockius; Sidley Austin; Sutherland Asbill & Brennan; Williams & Connolly; and WilmerHale.

"The Duke D.C. Law Firm Challenge was a fun way to raise money for the Law School," said Board of Visitors Member Peter Kahn '76. "As we all know, lawyers are competitive by nature. To play on that theme by having Washington firms compete against one another to increase donor participation and total giving – all for a great cause – was a ‘win-win’ for everyone."

Kahn and Law Alumni Association Board Member Paul Pantano '80 served as volunteer organizers for the Law Firm Challenge. The effort generated a 59 percent participation rate among the alumni working for the competing firms. The average participation rate among all Duke Law alumni is 26 percent.
Duke Law School thanks its organizers, participants, and team captains (listed below) for their generosity during the 2009 Duke Law Firm Challenge.

Duke Law Firm Challenge Team Captains

David Wittenstein '81, Dow Lohnes
Rick Robinson '82, Fulbright & Jaworski
Prentiss Feagles '76, Hogan & Hartson
Miguel Eaton '06, Jones Day
Paul Pantano '80, McDermott, Will & Emery
Chris Mixter '77, Morgan Lewis & Bockius
Terry Hynes '79, Sidley Austin
Doug Siegler '86, Sutherland Asbill & Brennan
Peter Kahn '76, Williams & Connolly
Jeff Davidson '77, WilmerHale