PUBLISHED:March 04, 2010

Twiggs-Beskind Cup results

March 4, 2010 — On March 1, the team of 1Ls Michael Goldsticker, Benjamin Kastan, Rebecca Kitchens, and Catherine Martinez laid claim to the coveted Twiggs-Beskind Cup, prevailing over classmates Rachel Berkowitz, Medora Mayne, John Rudd, and Douglas Salisbury in the final round of Duke’s annual intramural mock trial tournament.

Dean David F. Levi, who presided over the final round, was impressed by both teams’ presentations and those of their witnesses. “All had done a terrific job,” he said. “I particularly noted their skill in direct and cross examination.”

Eight teams competed in the opening rounds of the Twiggs-Beskind tournament which were held Feb. 22 and 23; teams with the highest total scores in the preliminary rounds qualified for the finals.

The four members of the winning team will be invited to join Duke Law School’s Mock Trial Board, as will 12 other tournament participants based on their individual scores.

The student-run Mock Trial Board promotes the practical development of trial skills at Duke Law through participation in intramural and interscholastic mock trial competitions.