Duke Law Mock Trial Board

The Mock Trial Board is a student-run organization that promotes the practical development of aspiring trial lawyers at Duke Law through participation in mock trial competitions at both the intra- and inter-scholastic levels. Board members are selected through the intrascholastic Duke Law Mock Trial Tournament, held annually during the spring semester. These members represent Duke Law in interscholastic tournaments throughout the country, including the ATLA National Trial Advocacy Tournament, the TYLA National Trial Competition, the Georgetown National White Collar Tournament, and the National Animal Law Closing Argument Competition. The Board recently expanded its membership so that it could send more students to national competitions and continue to build a national reputation for excellence in trial advocacy.

The 2011 Duke Law Mock Trial Tournament was held last spring. Fourteen teams participated in the competition, and the top performers were extended invitations to join the Mock Trial Board. During their tenure on the Board, each member is required either to serve as an officer or to compete in an interscholastic tournament each year they are on the board. The Mock Trial Board is led by an Executive Board composed of a president, vice president, treasurer, three intrascholastic tournament coordinators, and an interscholastic competition coordinator.

This year, Thomas Cull, Michael D’Ippolito, Jennifer Lin, and Lucy Partain won the 2013 Twiggs-Beskind Cup, prevailing over classmates Chauneice Davis, Christopher Hood, Christopher Robins, and Peter Singh. Judge Inman of the Special Superior Court of North Carolina presided over the final round.

Winning Team


Congratulations to those students who were extended an invitation to join the Board based on their outstanding performances in the 2012 Twiggs-Beskind Cup:

  • Thomas Cull
  • Michael D’Ippolito
  • Chauneice Davis
  • Judea Davis
  • Jerry Fang
  • Sean Fitzpatrick
  • John Gerl
  • Dennis Grabowski
  • Katherine Graham
  • Jamie Greenwood
  • Lyndsey Haas
  • Chris Hood
  • Robert Kornweiss
  • Jennifer Lin
  • Todd Noelle
  • Jack Pararas
  • Lucy Partain
  • Ben Reed
  • Christopher Robins
  • Sarah Sheridan
  • Peter Singh
  • Lindsey Stephens
  • Philip Tarpley
  • Kathleen Wade