Academic Calendar

Summer Term 2017

JD/LLM-LE Summer Immersion (for 2L JD-LLM-LE students only)

May 15-26

Durham, North Carolina

June 4-17

Silicon Valley, California

Master’s Program in Judicial Studies (for MJS students only)

Monday, May 22

First Day of Class

Friday, June 16

Last Day of Class

Summer Institutes in Transnational Law

Sunday, June 25

Orientation

Monday, June 26

First Day of Class, Term I

Friday, July 7

Last Day of Class, Term I

Monday July 10

First Day of Class, Term II

Friday, July 21

Last Day of Class, Term II

Sun--Tue, July 23-25

Reading and Examination Period

Summer Institute on Law, Language & Culture (for International LLM students only)

Friday, July 14

Orientation

Monday, July 17

First Day of Class

Wednesday, August 9

Last Day of Class

Fall Term 2017

Career Development (Upper Level JD Students)

July 31-Aug 3 Monday-Thursday On-Campus Interviewing
August 4-22 Friday-Tuesday Professional Development & Callback Days

LEAD Week / Orientation (incoming students)

August 14–18 Monday-Friday International LLM Students
August 15-18 Tuesday-Friday 1L JD Students
August 16 Wednesday LARW classes begin (1L JD Students)
August 21 Monday Law & Entrepreneurship LLM Students

Regular Semester

August 21 Monday 1L Classes begin
August 23 Wednesday Upper-Level Classes begin
August 31 Thursday Drop-Add period ends at midnight
September 4 Monday Labor Day -- NO CLASSES
September 8 Friday Clinic Intensive Training
September 22 Friday **Designated Class Make-up Day
October 9-13 Monday-Friday Fall Break -- No Classes 1L LARW Writing Week
October 18 Wednesday End of 7th week of class
October 20 Friday 1L Mid-Term Exams
November 10 Friday **Designated Class Make-up Day
November 22-24 Wednesday-Friday Thanksgiving Break
November 30 Thursday Last Day of 1L Classes
December 1 Friday First Year Reading Period begins
December 4 Monday Upper-Level Classes End
December 5 Tuesday Upper-Level reading period begins
December 6 Wednesday First Year Examination Period Begins
December 7 Thursday Upper Level Examination Period Begins
December 18 Monday Examination Period Ends

Wintersession Term 2018

Wednesday-Sunday, January 3-7, 2018

Spring Term 2018

January 3 Wednesday LARW Writing Classes Resume
January 8 Monday First Day of Classes
January 11-14 Thursday-Sunday Intensive Trial Practice Weekend
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday (No Classes)
January 17 Wednesday Drop Add period ends at 5 pm.
January 19 Friday Clinic Intensive Training
March 12-16 Monday-Friday Spring Break (No Classes)
April 16 Monday Last Day of Class (Monday classes meet)
April 17 Tuesday Reading and Examination Period begins
May 4 Friday Reading and Examination Period ends
May 8 Tuesday All graduating students must be cleared by noon.
May 12 Saturday Law School Hooding Ceremony
May 13 Sunday University Commencement