Academic Calendar

Summer Term 2016

JD/LLM-LE Summer Immersion (for 2L JD-LLM-LE students only)

Tuesday, May 24

First Day of Class

Friday, June 17

Last Day of Class

Master’s Program in Judicial Studies (for MJS students only)

Monday, May 23

First Day of Class

Monday, May 30, Memorial Day

No Classes

Friday, June 17

Last Day of Class

Summer Institutes in Transnational Law (Hong Kong/Geneva)

Sunday, June 26

Orientation

Monday, June 27

First Day of Class, Term I

Friday, July 8

Last Day of Class, Term I

Monday July 11

First Day of Class, Term II

Friday, July 22

Last Day of Class, Term II

Sun--Tue, July 24-26

Reading and Examination Period

Summer Institute on Law, Language & Culture (for International LLM students only)

Friday, July 15

Orientation

Monday, July 18

First Day of Class

Wednesday, August 10

Last Day of Class

Fall Term 2016

Career Development (Upper Level JD Students)

August 8-11 Monday-Thursday On-Campus Interviewing
August 12-23 Friday-Tuesday Professional Development & Callback Days

LEAD Week / Orientation

August 15–19 Monday-Friday International LLM Students
August 16-19 Tuesday-Friday 1L JD Students
August 17-19 Wednesday-Friday Law & Entrepreneurship LLM Students
August 17 Wednesday LARW classes begin (1L JD Students)

Regular Semester

August 22 Monday 1L Classes begin
August 24 Wednesday Upper-Level Classes begin
August 27-28 Saturday-Sunday Guantanamo Clinic Standdown
September 1 Thursday Drop-Add period ends at midnight
September 2 Friday Clinic Intensive Training
September 5 Monday Labor Day -- NO Classes
September 23 Friday **Designated Class Make-up Day
October 10-14 Monday-Friday Fall Break -- No Classes 1L LARW Writing Week
October 18 Tuesday End of 7th week of class
October 21 Friday 1L Mid-Term Exams
November 11 Friday **Designated Class Make-up Day
November 23-25 Wednesday-Friday Thanksgiving Break
December 1 Thursday First-Year Classes End (MONDAY CLASSES MEET - Labor Day make-up)
December 2 Friday First Year Reading Period begins
December 5 Monday Upper-Level Classes End
December 6 Tuesday Upper-Level reading period begins
December 7 Wednesday First Year Examination Period Begins
December 8 Thursday Upper Level Examination Period Begins
December 19 Monday Examination Period Ends

Wintersession Term 2017

Wednesday-Sunday, January 4-8, 2017

Spring Term 2017

January 4 Wednesday LARW Writing Classes Resume
January 9 Monday First Day of Classes
January 12-15 Thursday-Sunday Intensive Trial Practice Weekend
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday (No Classes)
January 18 Wednesday Drop Add period ends at 5 pm.
January 20 Friday Clinic Intensive Training
Tbd tbd Guantanamo Clinic Standdown
March 13-17 Monday-Friday Spring Break (No Classes)
April 17 Monday Last Day of Class (Monday classes meet)
April 18 Tuesday Reading and Examination Period begins
May 5 Friday Reading and Examination Period ends
May 9 Tuesday All graduating students must be cleared by noon.
May 13 Saturday Law School Hooding Ceremony
May 14 Sunday University Commencement