Banner

LLM Degree

Main Content
Heading

The Master of Laws (LLM) program at Duke Law School is designed to introduce graduates of foreign law schools to the legal system of the United States and to provide the opportunity to take advanced courses in specialized areas of the law.

LLM studentsLLM students are welcome to make selections from the large number of courses represented in the curriculum. With the exception of two required courses, all classes are taken with JD students. Students may also take courses in other parts of the university, such as the Fuqua School of Business or the Sanford School of Public Policy.


Most LLM students at Duke are professionals with two or more years of experience at well-known law firms. They are also judges, prosecutors, academics, members of government ministries, corporations, or financial institutions. The LLM program usually includes a small number of talented, very recent law graduates as well.

Duke Law LLM Experience

Duke LLM students describe their experiences in Duke Law courses, on campus, and in Durham and North Carolina.

Title
Upcoming Recruitment Events
Image
Announcement Photo for the Duke LLM live session
Call to Action Content

We invite you to join us at the following upcoming events to learn how the Duke LLM program can enhance your international legal career.

 

Canada – “The Duke University LLM - The Right Size, The Right Place, The Right Program”
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 at 2:00pm ET – 12:00pm MDT
Register here
 

EducationUSA Europe LLM Tour 
Informational Webinar - "Different types of LLM Programs" 

Participant countries: Belgium, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Serbia, Spain, Turkey, and the U.K.
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 at 12:30 pm ET - 6:30 pm CET 
Register here


Mexico – “The Duke University LLM - The Right Size, The Right Place, The Right Program”
Thursday, October 21, 2021 at 3:00pm ET - 2:00pm CT
Registration link (tbd)


Germany - DAJV LL.M. Days 2021 
Virtual Seminar and Fair
Thursday, October 21 – Saturday, October 23, 2021
Register here

 
France – “Insider’s Guide to Application, Admission and Academic Success at Elite U.S. LLM Programs”
Thursday, October 28, 2021 at 12:00pm ET – 6:00pm CET
Register here
 

Ireland and the U.K. – “Insider’s Guide to Application, Admission and Academic Success at Elite U.S. LLM Programs”
Wednesday, November 3, 2021 at 11:00 am ET – 3:00 pm BT
Register here


Education USA Latin America LLM Webinar - “The Differences Between a J.D. and an LL.M. and Work Experience”
Monday, November 8, 2021 at 4:00pm ET – 6:00pm BRT
Registration link (tbd)


Germany – “Insider’s Guide to Application, Admission and Academic Success at Elite U.S. LLM Programs”
Monday, November 15, 2021 at 12:30pm ET – 6:30pm CET
Register here


Brazil, Colombia and Panama - “Insider’s Guide to Application, Admission and Academic Success at Elite U.S. LLM Program”
Tuesday, November 16, 2021 at 3:00pm ET – 5:00pm BRT
Zoom joining link


Education USA Europe LLM Tour
Program Fair

Participating Countries: Belgium, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Serbia, Spain, Turkey, and the U.K.
Tuesday, November 30, 2021
Register here
 

 

 

Title
Application Deadlines
Content

Applicants to Duke Law's LLM, SJD and exchange programs may begin submitting applications for the 2022-2023 academic year on September 1, 2021. The application deadline for the LLM program is February 1, 2022. The application deadline for the SJD program is February 20, 2022.

Title
U.S. Bar Exams
Content

Duke's curriculum is specifically designed to allow you to take the New York Bar exam, assuming your previous legal education meets some basic requirements such as the appropriate length of time of study. Our curriculum also meets the requirements for students seeking bar eligibility in other states, such as California and Texas.

Content

"The LLM program taught me the basic structure and interesting dynamics of the U.S. legal frame-work and inspired and cultivated my intellectual curiosity to learn more about it. Even with a few years under my belt as a practitioner, the program solidified my expertise in international business law and greatly enhanced my legal career."

Shinichi Yoshiya, Executive Director, Head of Regulatory Affairs for Japan and APAC, Morgan Stanley