Banner

Academic Calendar

Main Content

Summer Term 2022

JD-LLM-LE Summer Immersion (2L JD-LLM-LE students only) meeting format TBD

Monday, May 2 - Friday, June 3

Durham, North Carolina

Master’s Program in Judicial Studies (MJS students only) meeting format TBD

Monday, May 16

First Day of Class

Friday, June 10

Last Day of Class

Leiden Summer Institute (meeting in Durham, meeting format TBD)

Sunday, June 19

Orientation

Monday, June 20

First Day of Class

Friday, July 15

Last Day of Class

Monday, July 18 - Weds, July 20

Reading and Examination Period

Summer Institute on Law, Language & Culture (International LLM students only) 

Monday, July 18

First Day of Classes

Wednesday, August 10

Last Day of Classes

 

Fall Term 2022

CAREER DEVELOPMENT (Upper Level JD Students)

Tuesday, August 2 – Friday, August 5

On-Campus Interviewing (Virtual)

Monday, August 8 – Friday, August 19

2nd Round/Callback Interviews

LEAD Week / Orientation (incoming students) meeting format TBD

August 11 - August 19

Thursday-Friday

International LLM Students

August 16 - August 19

Tuesday-Friday

1L JD Students

August 17 Wednesday  LARW classes begin (times and rooms TBA)
Distinctive Aspects of US Law begins (International LLM Students)

August 18

Thursday

LARWINT classes begin (times and rooms TBA)

Regular Semester

August 22

Monday

1L Classes begin and Upper Level classes begin

September 2

Friday

Drop Add ends at 11:59 pm

September 2    

Friday

Clinic Intensive Training

September 5 Monday Labor Day (no classes)

September 23

Friday

Designated make-up day

October 10  - October 14 Monday - Friday Fall Break (1L Writing Week)
October 17 Monday

End of 7th week of classes

November 11 Friday Designated make-up day
November 22 Tuesday * Friday classes meet
November 23 - November 25 Wednesday - Friday Thanksgiving break
December 1 Thursday Last day of Classes
December 2 Friday Reading period begins
December 2 Friday

Drop Add ends for Wintersession at 11:59PM

December 6

Monday

Examination Period Begins

December 16

Friday

Examination Period Ends

 

Wintersession Term 2023

  • Dates TBD

Spring Term 2023

January 9 and January 11

Monday, Wednesday

LARW Writing Classes Meet (tentative)

January 12 Thursday First Day of Classes

January 12 - January 15

Thursday -Sunday Intensive Trial Practice Weekend
January 20  Friday

Drop Add period ends at 11:59 pm

January 16 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday (no classes)
January 27 Friday Clinic Intensive
February 10 Friday Designated make-up day
March 1 Wednesday

End of 7th Week of classes

March 13 - March 17 Monday - Friday

Spring Break (no classes)

March 31 Friday Designated make-up day
April 20 Thursday

Last day of class (Monday classes meet)

April 21 Friday

Reading period begins

April 25 Tuesday

Exams begin

May 5 Friday

Reading and Examination period ends

May 9 Tuesday

Graduating students clearing deadline at Noon

May 13 Saturday Law School Convocation, diploma distribution
May 14 Sunday 

University Commencement