Banner

Academic Calendar

Main Content

Summer Term 2021

JD-LLM-LE Summer Immersion (2L JD-LLM-LE students only) meeting format TBD

Monday, May 10 - Friday, June 4

Durham, North Carolina

Master’s Program in Judicial Studies (MJS students only) meeting format TBD

Monday, May 17

First Day of Class

Friday, June 11

Last Day of Class

Leiden Summer Institute (meeting in Durham, meeting format TBD)

Sunday, June 13

Orientation

Monday, June 14

First Day of Class

Friday, July 9

Last Day of Class

Monday, July 12 - Wed., July 14

Reading and Examination Period

Summer Institute on Law, Language & Culture (International LLM students only) meeting format: in-person; hybrid option available upon request

Friday, July 16

Orientation

Monday, July 19

First Day of Classes

Wednesday, August 11

Last Day of Classes

 

Fall Term 2021

CAREER DEVELOPMENT (Upper Level JD Students)

Tuesday, August 3 – Friday, August 6

On-Campus Interviewing

Monday, August 9 – Friday, August 20

2nd Round/Callback Interviews

LEAD Week / Orientation (incoming students)

August 12-20

Thursday-Friday

International LLM Students

August 16-20

Monday-Friday

1L JD Students

August 13 Friday Distinctive Aspects of US Law begins (International LLM Students)

August 18

Wednesday

LARW classes begin (times and rooms TBA)

August 19

Thursday

LARWINT classes begin (times and rooms TBA)

Regular Semester

August 23

Monday

1L Classes begin and Upper Level classes begin

September 3

Friday

Drop Add ends at 11:59 pm

September 3    

Friday

Clinic Intensive Training

September 6 Monday Labor Day (no classes)

September 24

Friday

Designated make-up day

October 4  - October 8 Monday - Friday Fall Break (1L Writing Week)
October 15 Friday

Designated make-up day

October 18 Monday End of 7th week of classes

November 12            

Friday

Designated make-up day

November 23 Tuesday * Friday classes meet

November 24 - November 26

Wednesday - Friday

Thanksgiving break

December 2 Thursday Last day of Classes

December 6

Monday

Examination Period Begins

December 17

Friday

Examination Period Ends

 

Wintersession Term 2021

Dates to be announced      

Spring Term 2022

January 5

Wednesday

LARW Writing Classes Meet (tentative)

January 6 Thursday First Day of Classes
January 14        Friday

Drop Add period ends at 11:59 pm

January 13 - January 16 Thursday - Sunday

Intensive Trial Practice Weekend

January 17 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday (no classes)
January 21 Friday Clinic Intensive
February 24 Thursday

End of 7th Week of classes

March 7 - March 11 Monday - Friday

Spring Break (no classes)

April 14 Thursday

Last day of class (Monday classes meet)

April 15 Friday

Reading period begins

April 19 Tuesday

Exams begin

April 29 Friday

Reading and Examination period ends

May 3 Tuesday

Graduating students clearing deadline at Noon

May 7 Saturday Law School Convocation, diploma distribution
May 8 Sunday 

University Commencement