Banner

Clinical Program

Main Content

Duke Law offers a variety of opportunities for students to build an experiential bridge between law school and practice. Housed together in the clinic suite, the real-client courses operate as a public interest law firm, providing students challenging opportunities to deepen their substantive legal knowledge, strengthen their lawyering skills, and build their professional identities.

Whether a clinic student is representing a special-needs child in obtaining an individualized education plan, working with a non-profit to help meet the community's need for affordable housing, or advocating for a wrongly-convicted person, the student is not only enhancing his or her own professional skills, but also providing free legal assistance to at-risk populations.

Duke's clinical faculty are committed to providing high-quality supervision and innovative teaching. Over the course of the semester, faculty members work closely with each individual student to provide mentoring and guidance.

The nation's first law school clinic

In 1930, when Justin Miller became dean of Duke Law School, one of his first hires was a former colleague from the University of Southern California, John S. Bradway. A former legal aid lawyer, Bradway had organized an experimental summer course in which USC students handled simple cases for indigent clients under the supervision of faculty. While a number of law schools had opened “dispeStudent assisting client nsaries” operated either by students or in partnership with legal aid societies or the local bar, none had established a viable in-house legal aid clinic. With Miller’s encouragement, Bradway would travel east to make Duke the first.

This was no small undertaking. Among the potential obstacles the clinic faced were Durham's small population and the conservative, rural character of North Carolina, not to mention the fear that Duke wanted to take business from local lawyers. “Preliminary predictions of failure were not wanting,” Bradway later wrote. But after he and Miller met with the Durham Bar Association to assure it that the clinic would follow the standard legal aid practice of limiting clients to those who couldn’t pay, opposition dissipated. Within six months of opening in the basement of the law school building in October 1931, it had received 129 applications from potential clients from as far away as California and Great Britain.

Bradway would direct the Duke Legal Aid Clinic for the next 28 years. In frequent writings, he argued that clinical education benefited many more than just the needy. It helped the bar ensure new lawyers were admitted with experience serving “flesh and blood clients” with “actual human problems.” It helped law schools such as Duke build relationships in the community, just as medical school clinics had done. And it provided an opportunity for the legal profession to show its more humane side.

Under Bradway’s pioneering leadership, the belief in a lawyer’s duty to all people would take hold at Duke Law, and it remains a core value to this day.

Clinical Faculty

Sean E. Andrussier

Clinical Professor of Law
Director, Appellate Litigation Clinic

  919-613-7280

 andrussier@law.duke.edu

Erika J.S. Buell

Clinical Professor of Law
Director of the Program in Law & Entrepreneurship

  919-613-7152

 ebuell@law.duke.edu

James E. Coleman, Jr.

John S. Bradway Professor of the Practice of Law
Director, Center for Criminal Justice and Professional Responsibility
Co-Director, Wrongful Convictions Clinic

  919-613-7057

 jcoleman@law.duke.edu

S. Hannah Demeritt

Clinical Professor of Law
Supervising Attorney, Health Justice Clinic

  919-613-8516

 demeritt@law.duke.edu

Kate Evans

Clinical Professor of Law
Director, Immigrant Rights Clinic

  919-613-7036

 evans@law.duke.edu

Andrew Foster

Clinical Professor of Law
Director, Clinical Programs
Director, Community Enterprise Clinic

  919-613-7076

 foster@law.duke.edu

Aya Fujimura-Fanselow

Senior Lecturing Fellow
Supervising Attorney, International Human Rights Clinic

  919-613-7239

 fujimura-fanselow@law.duke.edu

Anne Gordon

Clinical Professor of Law
Director of Externships

  919-613-8563

 agordon@law.duke.edu

Crystal Grant

Senior Lecturing Fellow
Supervising Attorney, Children’s Law Clinic

  919-613-7104

 crystal.grant@law.duke.edu

Charles R. Holton

Clinical Professor of Law
Director, Civil Justice Clinic

  919-613-7131

 Holton@law.duke.edu

Jayne Huckerby

Clinical Professor of Law
Director, International Human Rights Clinic

  919-613-7228

 huckerby@law.duke.edu

Jennifer Jenkins

Clinical Professor of Law
Director, Center for the Study of the Public Domain

  919-613-7270

 Jenkins@law.duke.edu

Jamie T. Lau

Clinical Professor of Law
Supervising Attorney, Center for Criminal Justice and Professional Responsibility

  919-613-7764

 jamie.lau@duke.edu

Nicole Ligon

Lecturing Fellow
Supervising Attorney, First Amendment Clinic

  919-613-7470

 ligon@law.duke.edu

Ryke Longest

Clinical Professor of Law
Clinical Professor of Environmental Sciences and Policy
Co-Director, Environmental Law and Policy Clinic

  919-613-7207

 longest@law.duke.edu

Jesse McCoy

James Scott Farrin Lecturing Fellow
Supervising Attorney, Civil Justice Clinic

  919-613-6936

 mccoy@law.duke.edu

Bryan McGann

Clinical Professor of Law
Director, Start-Up Ventures Clinic

  919-613-7448

 bryan.mcgann@duke.edu

Madeline Morris

Professor of Law

  919-613-7049, 919-260-1575

 Morris@law.duke.edu

Theresa A. Newman

Charles S. Rhyne Clinical Professor of Law
Co-Director, Wrongful Convictions Clinic

  919-613-7133

 Newman@law.duke.edu

Michelle Benedict Nowlin

Clinical Professor of Law
Co-Director, Environmental Law and Policy Clinic

  919-613-8502

 nowlin@law.duke.edu

H. Jefferson Powell

Professor of Law
Director, First Amendment Clinic

  919-613-7168

 Powell@law.duke.edu

Allison Rice

Clinical Professor of Law
Director, Health Justice Clinic

  919-613-7135

 Rice@law.duke.edu

Jeff Ward

Associate Dean for Technology and Innovation
Associate Clinical Professor of Law
Director, Duke Center on Law & Technology

  919-613-7153

 ward@law.duke.edu

Jane R. Wettach

William B. McGuire Clinical Professor of Law
Director, Children's Law Clinic

  919-613-7048

 Wettach@law.duke.edu