Interscholastic Moot Court Competitions

Interscholastic Moot Court Competitions

Main Content

In addition to our responsibilities for aiding in the teaching of oral advocacy at the Law School, the Duke Law Moot Court Board is committed to successfully participating in many of the nation's (and the world's) most prestigious moot court competitions.

Past teams

National Entertainment Law Moot Court Competition
Hosted by the Pepperdine School of Law
November 12-13, 2016

Jasmin Lott '17
Christine Umeh '17 - Third Place Oral Advocate

Results: Quarterfinalists


Irving R. Kaufman Memorial Securities Law Moot Court Competition
Hosted by the Fordham University School of Law
April 1-3, 2016

Devon McLaughlin '17
Michael Moritz '16

Results: Second Best Brief


Albert R. Mugel National Tax Moot Court Competition
Hosted by the State University of New York at Buffalo School of Law
February 20, 2016

Alan Fu '17
Jordan Lamothe '17

Results: First-Place Winners and First-Place Appellate Brief


ABA National Appellate Advocacy Competition
Hosted by the American Bar Association
March 3-6, 2011

Team 1:
Grayson Lambert
Leah Shen
Nels Vulin

Results: Advanced to octafinal round in national finals (April 7-9, 2011)

Team 2:
Ben Baucom
Karen Beach
Catherine Lawson

Results: National Champions (April 7-9, 2011)


Andrews Kurth Moot Court National Championship
Hosted by the University of Houston Law Center
January 26-29, 2011

Tom FitzGerald
Ashley Watkins

Results: Advance to Quarterfinals


Luke Charles Moore Invitational Moot Court Competition
Howard University School of Law
February 25-26, 2011

Andrea Hamilton
Zach Linowitz

Results: First Place, Runner-up for Best Brief


New York City Bar National Moot Court Competition
Hosted by the New York City Bar

Ben Baucom
Jenna Feistritzer
Leah Shen

Results: Advanced to national finals