Justin Miller Awards

"Altruism combined with realism; knowledge of fundamental principles and capacity to apply them; courage to insist on the right and patience to achieve it; understanding of the timidity of the weak; fearlessness of the domination of the powerful; sympathy for the mistakes of the indiscreet; caution of the craftiness of the unprincipled; enthusiasm for that which is fine and inspiring; reverence for that which is sacred; these are some of the attributes of great lawyers."

Justin Miller
Dean, 1930-34


The Office of Student Affairs is pleased to announce the Justin Miller Awards for graduating Duke Law students. Justin Miller served as Law School Dean from 1930-34. Among other accomplishments, he is credited with bringing national attention to the Law School and instilling the qualities that continue to make Duke Law an exceptional place to study. As today's Duke Law Blueprint attests, the principles Dean Miller espoused some 70 years ago remain a part of the foundation of this Law School. In honor of Dean Miller and in the spirit of his words, we present the following awards:

  • Award for Leadership - The recipient is someone who has been especially active in the Law School and/or the greater Durham community, who demonstrates initiative and leads by example. He or she takes responsibility for his or her actions and encourages others to do the same.
    » Nomination form for the Justin Miller Award for Leadership (coming soon)
  • Award for Integrity - The recipient is a courageous person with strong principles, a solid character, and a true sense of altruism. Demonstrating an appreciation for honesty and justice, he or she instills these same qualities in others.
    » Nomination form for the Justin Miller Award for Integrity (coming soon)
  • Award for Citizenship - A genuine enthusiasm for the Duke Law School community distinguishes this recipient as someone who brings people together in constructive ways. With a spirit of optimism, he or she looks beyond individual differences to find common ground in mentoring relationships with others.
    » Nomination form for the Justin Miller Award for Citizenship (coming soon)
  • Award for Intellectual Curiosity - Not necessarily the student with the highest grades or the most academic honors, the recipient is a person who truly enjoys learning. He or she has an intellectual hunger and passion for the law and consistently shares this with and encourages it in others.
    » Nomination form for the Justin Miller Award for Intellectual Curiosity (coming soon)
  • LLM Award for Leadership and Community Participation – The recipient is someone who has demonstrated the following attributes: 1) Engagement with the whole Law School community in addition to showing leadership among the LLM students, 2) Showing a display of concern for the well-being of LLM students at the Law School and at the University, 3) Making effective efforts to promote integration of LLM and JD students, 4) Participating in Law School organizations and activities, 5) Devoting attention to academic performance in Law School Courses.
    » Nomination Form for the Justin Miller LLM Award for Leadership and Community Participation (coming soon)

Eligibility and Selection Process

Nominees must be 3L/LLM students. Nominations will be accepted from students only, and students from any class may offer nomination(s). Nominations will be reviewed by a committee of students, faculty, and administrators, and the recipients will be announced at the Graduation Gala. Please submit your nominations by April 3, 2015, at 5 p.m.


Each recipient will receive a gift, and a book in the Law Library will be dedicated on his or her behalf. Plaques with the names of the winners will be displayed next to the portrait of Dean Justin Miller or displayed in the International Studies suite.

Past Recipients


Award for Leadership: Ruben Henriquez
Award for Integrity: Casteel Borsay
Award for Citizenship: Stephanie Laboy and Hilary Campbell
Award for Intellectual Curiosity: Taylor Crabtree and Robby Naoufal
LLM Award for Leadership and Community Participation: Jehan Saeed


Award for Leadership: Phil Aubart
Award for Integrity: Haley Warden Rodgers
Award for Citizenship: Maia Pelleg and Candice Reder
Award for Intellectual Curiosity: Andrew Foglia
LLM Award for Leadership and Community Participation: Fernando Del Mastro Puccio


Award for Leadership: Caitlin Swain-McSurely
Award for Integrity: Maryann Flanigan
Award for Citizenship: Beth Lilly and James Gillenwater
Award for Intellectual Curiosity: Chris Ford
LLM Award for Leadership and Community Participation: Ryham Ragab


Award for Leadership: Tricia Hammond
Award for Integrity: James Pearce
Award for Citizenship: Daniel Leslie
Award for Intellectual Curiosity: Chase Anderson
LLM Award for Leadership and Community Participation: Darcy Huang (Taiwan)


Award for Leadership: Kat Shea
Award for Integrity: David Mansfield
Award for Citizenship: Amelia Ashton
Award for Citizenship: Ryan Scofield
Award for Intellectual Curiosity: Natalie Bedoya
LLM Award for Leadership and Community Participation: Tania Khosla (India)


Award for Leadership: Sonja Marie Ralston Elder
Award for Integrity: Jeffrey Dale Ward
Award for Citizenship: Matthew Louis Lipsky
Award for Intellectual Curiosity: Eric Wantuck Eisenberg
LLM Award for Leadership and Community Participation: Yen-Chia Chen (Taiwan)


Award for Leadership: Kristina Aija Johnson
Award for Integrity: Jennifer Marie Avery
Award for Citizenship: Matthew William Wolfe
Award for Intellectual Curiosity: Jennifer Nicole Wimsatt
LLM Award for Leadership and Community Participation: Masaya Tsuda (Japan) and Carlos Gabriel Kaplan (Argentina)


Award for Leadership: Brettny E. Hardy
Award for Integrity: Linton Mann III
Award for Citizenship: Leah M. Nicholls
Award for Intellectual Curiosity: Nathan S. Chapman
LLM Award for Leadership and Community Participation: Roy Guy-Green (Israel) and Alejandro Sanchez-Mujica Almada (Mexico)


Award for Leadership: Teresa A. Sakash
Award for Integrity: Benjamin A. Stark
Award for Citizenship: Christopher J. Kocher
Award for Intellectual Curiosity: Garrett A. Levin
LLM Award for Leadership and Community Participation: German Delgado (Spain)


Award for Leadership: Vikram B. Patel
Award for Integrity: N. David Prestwood
Award for Citizenship: Leslie K. Cooley
Award for Intellectual Curiosity: Scott M. Edson
LLM Award for Leadership and Community Participation: Nobuki Sanagawa (Japan)


Award for Leadership: Michael L. Greenwald
Award for Integrity: Andrew T. Tripp
Award for Citizenship: Robert J. Gallagher & Merrill F. Hoopengardner
Award for Intellectual Curiosity: A. Xavier Baker


Award for Leadership: Christine E. Soares
Award for Integrity: Matthew J. Bonness
Award for Citizenship: John W. Bolin, III
Award for Intellectual Curiosity: Stephen T. Smith


Award for Leadership: Marcella A. Harshbarger
Award for Integrity: Carl C. Carl
Award for Citizenship: Corey A. Ciocchetti
Award for Intellectual Curiosity: Daniel J. Foster