Christopher Mills, winner of the 2003 Dean's Cup Moot Court Competition

Main Content
Christopher Mills and Judges
Christopher Mills, second from left, poses with Judges Roger Gregory, left, David Sentelle and Brent McKnight with the Dean's Cup shortly after Mills' victory in the competition on Feb. 7
After a close argument before an active bench of federal judges, Christopher Mills ’04, the petitioner, emerged as the winner of the 2003 Dean's Cup on Feb. 7. He narrowly defeated Tim Hudson ’03, who argued the respondent position.

The case for this academic year's Dean's Cup Competition was Hickman v. Gerber, which presented the issue of whether the government's refusal to enable an inmate to pursue artificial insemination options violated a fundamental, constitutional right to procreate. As always, the Dean's Cup case and appendix were the same as those used by the Appellate Practice class.

The judges for the final round were the Honorable David Sentelle of the D.C. Circuit (who presided as Chief Justice); the Honorable Roger Gregory of the Fourth Circuit; and the Honorable Brent McKnight, a magistrate judge from Charlotte.

Mills and Hudson accepted invitations to join the Moot Court Board, along with Nate Henderson (a semifinalist), Sarah Stumpf (a semifinalist), Walter Buzzetta, Blake Klein, Allyson Paflas, and Allison Stiles.