Scribes - The American Society of Legal Writers 2010 Brief-Writing Competition

January 11, 2010Duke Law News

The Scribes Brief-Writing Competition solicits winning briefs from national moot-court competitions and selects the finest of these winning briefs. Winners will be recognized at the Scribes Annual Meeting during the ABA meeting in San Francisco on August 7, 2010. Instructions for submitting a brief to the Scribes competition:

1. By April 16, 2010, e-mail an electronic copy of the winning brief to

2. The subject line of the e-mail should indicate that it's a Scribes brief nomination from [insert name] Law School (the students' law school, not a sponsoring law school).

3. The body of the e-mail must include the following:

a. Name of the Competition
b. Place where the brief was named "best brief" (e.g., finals, SW Regional)
c. Names of the Students Who Wrote the Brief
d. Students' School
e. Name of students' advisor, if any

4. The brief itself cannot include any information that identifies the student authors or their school. Please check the cover page, signature pages, and headers or footers.

5. Submit the brief as a PDF file if possible, although we will accept Word or WordPerfect format if necessary.

6. The brief must be submitted as a single file.
Other News
  • Susan Akers JD/MEM ’91

    After majoring in biology at Wake Forest University, Susan Akers broke new ground for Duke Law students by pairing her JD studies with the pursuit of a graduate degree in environmental management from the Duke School of Forestry and Environmental Studies (now called the Nicholas School of the Environment).

  • Environmental Law and Policy Clinic comments on proposed international regulations for mining the ocean floor

    The Environmental Law and Policy Clinic weighed in on the first-ever regulations proposed for mineral exploitation of the ocean floor in June, emphasizing the need to protect deep-sea biodiversity and ecosystem function.  Little is known about life in the deep sea, a region scientists have only recently begun to explore, but discoveries over the past few years by Duke scientists and others have provided glimpses of an astonishing range of biodiversity — including unique life forms thriving in super-heated thermal vent environments.