PUBLISHED:March 21, 2011

Nominate a Classmate for the Justin Miller Awards for Graduating Duke Law Students

The Office of Student Affairs is pleased to announce the Justin Miller Awards for graduating Duke Law students. Justin Miller served as Law School Dean from 1930-34. Among other accomplishments, he is credited with bringing national attention to the Law School and instilling the qualities that continue to make Duke Law an exceptional place to study. As today's Duke Law Blueprint attests, the principles Dean Miller espoused some 70 years ago remain a part of the foundation of this Law School. In honor of Dean Miller and in the spirit of his words, we present the following awards:

  • Award for Leadership - The recipient is someone who has been especially active in the Law School and/or the greater Durham community, who demonstrates initiative and leads by example. He or she takes responsibility for his or her actions and encourages others to do the same.
  • Award for Integrity - The recipient is a courageous person with strong principles, a solid character, and a true sense of altruism. Demonstrating an appreciation for honesty and justice, he or she instills these same qualities in others.
  • Award for Citizenship - A genuine enthusiasm for the Duke Law School community distinguishes this recipient as someone who brings people together in constructive ways. With a spirit of optimism, he or she looks beyond individual differences to find common ground in mentoring relationships with others.
  • Award for Intellectual Curiosity - Not necessarily the student with the highest grades or the most academic honors, the recipient is a person who truly enjoys learning. He or she has an intellectual hunger and passion for the law and consistently shares this with and encourages it in others.
To nominate a classmate for an award, please e-mail by April 8, 2011, at 5 p.m. with the name of the nominee, the award for which you are nominating that person, and an explanation of why your nominee deserves that particular award.