Bolch Prize for the Rule of Law: A Ceremony Honoring the International Association of Women Judges

The Bolch Judicial Institute of Duke Law presented the International Association of Women Judges (IAWJ) with the Bolch Prize for the Rule of Law at a ceremony hosted at Duke University’s Nasher Museum of Art on March 1, 2023. The IAWJ was honored for their remarkable efforts to help evacuate, support, and resettle Afghan women judges after the Taliban retook control of the country in 2021.


• Kerry Abrams, James B. Duke and Benjamin N. Duke Dean of Duke Law School,
Distinguished Professor of Law
• Hon. Paul M. Newby, Chief Justice, Supreme Court of North Carolina
• Hon. David F. Levi, Director Emeritus, Bolch Judicial Institute, President, American Law
• Hon. Allyson K. Duncan, Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit (retired),
Regional Vice President, International Association of Judges
• Judge Sosan Bakhshi, A Former Judge of Afghanistan
• Hon. Paul W. Grimm, Director, Bolch Judicial Institute, Judge, U.S. District Court for the
District of Maryland (Retired)
• Dame Susan Glazebrook, Justice, Supreme Court of New Zealand, President,
International Association of Women Judges
• Susan Bass Bolch, Founder, Bolch Judicial Institute


The Carl and Susan Bolch Prize for the Rule of Law is awarded annually to an individual
or organization who has demonstrated extraordinary dedication to the rule of law and
advancing rule of law principles around the world. By honoring those who do this work,
the Bolch Prize draws attention to the ideals of justice and judicial independence and to
the constitutional structures and safeguards that undergird a free society. To learn
more, visit