Conference Program

Main Content

Friday, September 28, 2007

Registration and Continental Breakfast

8:00-8:30 a.m.

Welcome and Opening Remarks

8:30-9:00 a.m.

Opening Address

9:00-9:30 a.m.

  • Hodding Carter III
    University Professor of Leadership and Public Policy, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

The Role and Responsibility of Traditional Media

9:35-10:45 a.m.


  • Sara Sun Beale
    Charles L. B. Lowndes Professor of Law, Duke University


  • Sylvia Adcock
    free-lance journalist for The Washington Post and other publications; Lecturer, North Carolina State University
  • Loren Ghiglione
    Richard Schwarzlose Professor of Media Ethics, Medill School of Journalism, Northwestern University
  • Eric N. Lieberman
    Vice President and Counsel, The Washington Post
  • Malcolm Moran
    Knight Chair in Sports Journalism and Society, Pennsylvania State University College of Communications
  • William J. Raspberry
    Knight Professor of the Practice of Journalism and Public Policy Studies, DeWitt Wallace Center for Media and Democracy, Terry Sanford Institute of Public Policy, Duke University
  • Ari Shapiro
    Legal Correspondent, NPR News

The Role and Responsibility of New Media

10:50 a.m. -12:00 p.m.


  • James Salzman
    Samuel F. Mordecai Professor of Law and Nicholas Institute Professor of Environmental Policy, Duke University


  • KC Johnson
    Professor, Brooklyn College and The Graduate Center of the City University of New York, editor of
  • Beatrice Myers
    Executive Producer, CourtTV News
  • Marcy Wheeler
    contributor as "emptywheel" to and
  • Kinsey Wilson
    Executive Editor, USA TODAY

A “Fred Friendly” Roundtable

12:15-1:45 p.m. (Lunch Provided)


  • Jack Ford
    Anchor, CourtTV News


  • Peter Gilchrist
    District Attorney, Mecklenburg County, North Carolina
  • Margaret A. Jablonski
    Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Beth Karas
    Correspondent, CourtTV News
  • Kerstin Kimel
    Head Coach, Women’s Lacrosse, Duke University
  • David F. Levi
    Dean, Duke University School of Law
  • Lawrence G. McMichael
    Partner, Dilworth Paxson LLP
  • Ellen W. Reckhow
    Chairman, Durham County Board of Commissioners
  • Sonja Steptoe
    Senior Correspondent, TIME Magazine
  • Ron Wellman
    Director of Athletics, Wake Forest University
  • Elliott Wolf
    President, Duke Student Government, 2006-2007; Member, Duke University Class of 2008

Public Premiere of Gentile v. State Bar of Nevada, a “Voices of American Law” Documentary Series

2:00-2:30 p.m.

The Role and Responsibility of Defense Counsel

2:45-4:00 p.m.



  • Mark Geragos
    Principal, The Law Offices of Geragos & Geragos
  • Harold A. Haddon
    Member, Haddon, Morgan, Mueller, Jordan, Mackey & Foreman PC
  • Laurie L. Levenson
    Professor of Law, William M. Rains Fellow and Director of the Center for Ethical Advocacy, Loyola Law School, Los Angeles
  • Michael E. Tigar
    Research Professor of Law, American University Washington College of Law

The Role and Responsibility of Prosecutors

4:15-5:30 p.m.



  • R. Michael Cassidy
    Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Professor of Law, Boston College Law School
  • Colm F. Connolly
    United States Attorney, District of Delaware
  • Marsha Goodenow
    Assistant District Attorney, Mecklenburg County, North Carolina
  • Loretta E. Lynch
    Partner, Hogan & Hartson LLP; former United States Attorney, Eastern District of New York

Cocktails at Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

6:30-7:30 p.m.

Dinner at Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club with keynote speech

7:30 p.m.

  • Howard Schneider
    Founding Dean of the School of Journalism and Professor of Journalism, Stony Brook University

Saturday, September 29, 2007

Registration and Continental Breakfast

8:30-9:00 a.m.

Comparative Law Approaches to Media Access to Court Proceedings

9:00-10:15 a.m.



  • Lucy Dalglish
    Executive Director, The Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press
  • Peter M. Jacobsen
    Partner, Bersenas Jacobsen Chouest Thomson Blackburn LLP, Toronto, Canada
  • Gavin Phillipson
    Professor, Department of Law, Durham University, United Kingdom
  • Giorgio Resta
    Associate Professor, Law Faculty, University of Bari, Italy

Institutional Response to Crisis

10:30-11:45 a.m.


  • Noah Pickus
    Nannerl O. Keohane Director of The Kenan Institute for Ethics, Duke University 


  • Judith Clair
    Associate Professor, Boston College Carroll School of Management
  • Ronald L. Dufresne
    Assistant Professor, Erivan K. Haub School of Business, St. Joseph's University
  • Richard S. Levick
    President and Chief Executive Officer, Levick Strategic Communications
  • Craig A. Masback
    Chief Executive Officer, USA Track & Field

A Conversation:  Living through Lacrosse

Noon-1:15 p.m. (Lunch Provided)


  • Erwin Chemerinsky
    Alston & Bird Professor of Law and Professor of Political Science, Duke University


  • John F. Burness
    Senior Vice President for Public Affairs and Government Relations, Duke University
  • James E. Coleman, Jr.
    Professor of the Practice of Law, Duke University
  • LaTisha Gotell Faulks
    Assistant Professor, North Carolina Central University School of Law
  • Paul H. Haagen
    Professor of Law, Duke University
  • Sergio Quintana
    General Assignment Reporter, WNCN-TV, Raleigh, North Carolina
  • Emily Rotberg
    Managing Editor, Towerview magazine 2006-2007; staff member, Duke Chronicle; Member, Duke University Class of 2007

Reflections by President Brodhead

1:15 - 1:30 p.m.

  • Richard H. Brodhead
    President, Duke University

The Role and Responsibility of the Public

1:45-3:00 p.m.



  • Scott G. Bullock
    Senior Attorney, Institute for Justice
  • Robert Entman
    J.B. & M.C. Shapiro Professor of Media and Public Affairs, School of Media and Public Affairs, The George Washington University
  • Kimberly A. Gross
    Associate Professor of Media and Public Affairs, School of Media and Public Affairs, The George Washington University
  • Steven R. Shapiro
    Legal Director, American Civil Liberties Union

The Role and Responsibility of the Court

3:15-4:30 p.m.



  • Gary A. Hengstler
    Director, The Donald W. Reynolds National Center for the Courts and Media, National Judicial College
  • Leroy F. Millette, Jr.
    Chief Judge, Circuit Court, Prince William County, Virginia
  • W. Terry Ruckriegle
    Chief Judge, Fifth Judicial District, Breckenridge. Colorado
  • David A. Sellers
    Assistant Director for Public Affairs, Administrative Office of the United States Courts, Washington, D.C.
  • Reggie B. Walton, Judge
    The United States District Court for the District of Columbia

Closing Remarks

4:30-4:45 p.m.